Skip to content ↓


At the de Ferrers Sixth Form, students have the option to choose from 33 A Levels, BTECs, or CTec qualifications, or a mix of the three to ensure you have the perfect subject combination for you.

All students will be expected to study 3 subjects (or equivalent), and each subject has 5 hours of teaching plus homework and independent study.


What's the difference between A Level and BTEC?

A Levels are general academic qualifications and are a great route to degree level study. Like A Levels, BTECs and CTec are also Level 3 qualifications, but are more vocational in their nature. This generally means they are more practical and lead to careers in specific sectors or industries (although this isn’t always the case). All of these qualifications are awarded UCAS tariff points for entry to university.

What's a CTec?

CTec stands for Cambridge Technical and is another type of Level 3 qualification. Like a BTEC, it is more vocational in nature than an A Level. At de Ferrers we offer CTecs in Health and Social Care, and Laboratory Skills so if you're interested in progressing into a career in either of these fields, this would be a good option for you.

Find out how to apply

View our entry requirements

Visit us